¿To Ciudad Juárez?

¿To Ciudad Juárez?

 

¿How to stop thinking

about you, de una vez por todas?

pluralizar el bilingualism

como primer idioma natal, national,

¿estoy siendo racional?

¿Or parar de pensar

¿Or escuchar sólo mi voz interior

¿Or formular un escaparate folklórico?

Da lo mismo, ¿adonde quiero llegar?

 

¿How would you think is, to live

in the frontera? ¿in a rat laboratory

for the rich, sore and sweet?

¿How would you be opinionated, as I am?

¿Or drinking ‘ a dead worm ’?

¿Or typing any thoughts in a MacBook Air?

La inútil bobería, la que se piensa,

la que se comunica, ¿y luego?

¡Ah! poesía.

 

Si tan sólo me dejaras en paz,

si las ideas y los objetos no fueran lo mismo,

si no te hubieras pasado de la raya,

¡Oh! que bobería.

 

He aquí nuestros ojossssssssssssss

ante uno y el otro;

yo quiero STAR contigo

like a ESTR-ELLA en el olvido.

 

¿Acaso nuestras bocas se han besado?

¡Tu ciudad hermana esta más bronceada

que yo!

Tu ciudad hermana esta más gorda

y estúpida que ninguna!

 

¿Es esto lo que pienso de mi ciudad?

¿Son estos versos inválidos, escritos desde NYC?

 

¿Cómo es un día perfecto sin ti, mi ciudad?

¿Te amé?, ¿Te odio?, ¿Realmente te extraño?

¿Or a sus “wonderful” envidiables habitantes?

¿A unos pocos les da gusto que este aquí?

¿Creen que soy talentoso?

Mmmmmm.

 

 

About This Poem

 

“¿To Ciudad Juárez?” this poem was typed with my fingers. I realized that the border I was born is the kind of place where geographically segregation occurs and it manifest with a lot of prejudice. However, not all the creative people in the city like in every other place, they meet together and work for the community. I am one those who do not live anymore in the city and still stigmatize and play with the myth about my city. But, what’s wrong with us? I respect artist who creates art that is not political, and I respect those who are very political. I mean, I won’t stop writing about the bad and the good things about where I was born, where I grew up. I don’t have to care if I am called opportunist, I can’t make all the people happy. Someone has to do it, and that’s it’s me. I hope I can make more enemies. I promise it is not hate what runs in my veins. Poetry makes me feel better in this depress world. I am not that sad, but I really want the best for my city.

 

 

Un comentario en “¿To Ciudad Juárez?

Responder

